Skip to main content

Oxford Thermofluids Institute | Research - Research Groups: Hypersonics Group


Focusing on the research theme of Hypersonics, the group has a proud history dating back to the 1960s, when Professor Donald Schultz founded the Osney Laboratory at Oxford University. Our team is internationally renowned for its pioneering research into short duration wind tunnels and associated instrumentation. Our work is primarily concerned with experimental research relevant to planetary entry, atmospheric cruise and access to space.

Current areas of research within the group are:

  • Cooling technology for hypersonic vehicles
  • Hypersonic boundary layer transition
  • Aerodynamics and Aerothermodynamics for hypersonic vehicles
  • Hypersonic intake performance
  • Development of novel heat transfer gauges
  • Shock layer radiation
  • Satellite end-of-life & demise
  • Ground testing infrastructure


  • Dr Laurent Le Page – Senior post-doctoral research assistant working with Prof Matthew McGilvray
  • Dr Eric Chang – Post-doctoral research assistant working with Dr Tobias Hermann
  • Dr Andrew Ceruzzi – Post-doctoral research assistant working with Prof Matthew McGilvray
  • Orin Varley – Graduate engineer working with Prof Matthew McGilvray
  • Chris Wheeler – Graduate engineer working with Dr Luke Doherty and Mr Chris Hambidge

DPhil Students



Alumni - Research Staff

Dr Andrew Pilkington (Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Oxford)

Dr Peter Forsyth (National Research Council Canada)

Dr Joseph Camm (Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering, University of Liverpool)

Dr Dante McGrath (Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Cambridge)

Dr Tamara Sopek (Postdoctoral Research Fellow, University of Southern Queensland)

Dr Alexander Bucknell (Team Lead, Aerothermal Analysis, Defense Contractor)

Dr Sebastien Wylie (Fluid Gravity Engineering)

Dr Hassan Saad Ifti (Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Maryland)

Dr Peter Collen

Dr Marc Ewenz-Rocher (Consultant, Bain & Company)

Dr Kharthik Chakravarthy (Digital Consultant, Newton Europe)

Dr Luke Doherty (Departmental Lecturer, University of Oxford)

Dr Tobias Hermann (Departmental Lecturer, University of Oxford)

Chris Hambidge (Hypersonics Operations Manager, University of Oxford)

Alumni DPhil Students