Hypersonic wind tunnels at Oxford University will be upgraded as part of a Government investment in aerospace.   Wind tunnels at seven UK universities are to be upgraded as part of a £13.3m project to place Britain at the forefront of aerospace research.

The new National Wind Tunnel Facility will incorporate the Hypersonic facilities (http://www.eng.ox.ac.uk/hypersonics) in the Southwell Laboratory (http://www.eng.ox.ac.uk/thermofluids) as well as two sites in London and others in Glasgow, Cambridge, Southampton and Cranfield.

These world class tunnels will be available for use by academic researchers and industry. UK Universities and Science Minister David Willetts said they would support “pioneering work”.

The £13.3m funding package comes from the Engineering and Physical Research Council and the UK Aerodynamics Centre.

It will be shared by Oxford, Imperial College London, City University London and the Universities of Cambridge, Cranfield, Glasgow and Southampton.

Professor Peter Ireland, Head of the Osney Thermofluids Laboratory said that “The NWTF award is great news and comes on top of considerable investment from the University in high speed flow.  Last year, we were delighted to announce the appointment of Dr Matthew McGilvray to a faculty position as Senior Fellow in Hypersonics.”