M Bacic, S Garner and A L Rowe

from left Dr. Marko Bacic, Stephen Garner, Arthur Rowe (the winners) and John Rishton (CEO Rolls Royce)

Dr Marko Bacic and his colleagues receive prestigious 2012 Sir Henry Royce Award for Technical Innovation for their work on model-based detection system for confirmation of Intermediate Pressure (IP) shaft failure on three-spool engines.

This highest company award, recently presented by John Rishton, Rolls-Royce CEO is aimed at recognising teams and individuals whose pioneering ideas and innovative feats of engineering are improving the organisation’s products and services. All divisions of Rolls-Royce (Civil Aerospace, Defence Aerospace, Energy, Marine, Nuclear),its suppliers and a global network of 28 University Technology Centres are eligible for this award. This is the second time that the member of this department won the award, with Prof Lionel Tarassenko,FREng, CBE and his team receiving the 2001 award (then called Chairman’s award) for their research on jet Engine Health Monitoring systems.